Uncategorized

National Lampoon’s Vacation – 30th Year

National Lampoon's Vacation - 30th Year

You know you’re getting old when your favorite movie from childhood is now 30 years old. You also know you’re getting old when you say things like, “They don’t make films like that any more.” I can’t say how many times I’ve seen this movie. 25, 50, 100? More? I honestly don’t know. What I can say is that this movie is quotable from front to back and has laughs throughout. National Lampoon’s got things right with this movie. While I enjoy the subsequent Vacation movies, European, Christmas, Vegas, etc. None of them compare to Vacation. I understand that a new Vacation movie may be in the works. I hope that they use Vacation as the model.

A few years ago I had the opportunity to travel west with family and while our trip wasn’t hair-raising, it was special to see many of the sights that I’ve seen for decades. The lobby of the El Tovar seemed different than the one in the movie, but the experience was no less special.

Thanks to the cast of this movie for a lifetime of laughs.

Leave a Reply

